COVID 19: Restrictions across the UK - Updates are available on the Getting Back Together Safely pages. Getting Back Together Safely


Age ranges

In the United Kingdom, there are about 400,000 young people involved in Scouting, spread across five sections: Beaver Scouts, Cub Scouts, Scouts, Explorer Scouts and the Scout Network.

The kind of activity a Scout will do will depend on which section they belong to. Each section has a balanced programme with activities, badges and awards specific to the age range.

The Sections

  • Beaver Scouts are aged 6 – 8 years old
  • Cub Scouts are 8-10½
  • Scouts are 10½–14
  • Explorer Scouts are 14–18
  • Network Scouts are 18–25
  • Active Supporters are over 18
Put your phone down and what are you left with? Just teamwork, courage and the skills to succeed.’
Bear Grylls, Chief Scout Bear Grylls