Where we are

Home > Where we are

Where we are

Here’s a map showing the location of local Scout Groups and Explorer Scout Units. Barnet Borough Groups are shown with blue markers, and our Explorer Units with blue tacks:

View GLN Scout Groups – NEW in a larger map

Barnet is the second largest London borough by population with 331,500 inhabitants and covers an area of 33 square miles. It borders Hertfordshire to the north and five other London boroughs: Brent, Camden, Enfield, Haringey and Harrow.

The borough was formed in 1965 from parts of the counties of Middlesex and Hertfordshire.

In 1471 the Battle of Barnet was fought north of Chipping Barnet, just within the present borough’s boundary. It was here that Yorkist troops led by King Edward IV killed the rebellious “Kingmaker” Richard Neville, Earl of Warwick, and Warwick’s brother, John Neville, 1st Marquess of Montagu.

Barnet Borough Scout District was formed in 2009 by the merger of three Districts: Barnet, Hendon & Edgware and Finchley, Friern Barnet & Golders Green.

For a list of our Groups, with links to their websites, please click here.
Map of London showing the Borough of Barnet